Working with Tables

Close Window 

Saving Changes to Data

One feature of Access that disconcerts new users is that Access never, ever prompts us to save changes we’ve made to our data. Saving new data, or changes to existing data, is automatic in Access. In a table or a form, if you want to save changes you’ve made to a record, all you have to do is move to a different record (the Up or Down arrow key will take you there), or close the table or form.

If you want to save changes you’ve made to the current record without moving to a different one, press Shift+Enter (except when you're in a Memo field; move off the Memo field first).

If you want to cancel changes you’ve made, press ESC until the little pencil icon in the Record Selector disappears, or click the Undo button on the toolbar.

(Posted 07/29/2001)